The Last of the Bonegilla Girls

The Last of the Bonegilla Girls

The Last of the Bonegilla Girls by Victoria Purman Australian author

For readers of The Woolgrower’s Companion and The Three Miss Allens. A post-Second World War story of strong female ties and family, secrets and lies, set in the multicultural Australia of the fifties.

The war is over, but her fight for a new life in Australia is about to begin…

1954: When sixteen-year-old Hungarian Elizabeta arrives in Australia with her family, she is hoping to escape the hopelessness of life as a refugee in post-war Germany, a life where every day was lived in fear.

Her first stop is the Bonegilla Migrant Camp on the banks of the Murray in rural Victoria, a temporary home for thousands of new arrivals, all looking for work and a better life. There, Elizabeta becomes firm friends with the feisty Greek Vasiliki; quiet Italian Iliana; and the adventurous Frances, the daughter of the camp’s director.

In this vibrant and growing country, the Bonegilla girls rush together towards a life that seems full of promise, even as they cope with the legacy of war, the oppressive nature of family tradition and ever-present sorrow. So when a ghost from the past reaches out for Elizabeta and threatens to pull her back into the shadows, there is nothing that her friends wouldn’t do to keep her safe: no action too extreme, no confidence too dark.

But secrets have a way of making themselves known and lies have a way of changing everything they touch. Can the Bonegilla girls defeat their past? Or has it finally come to claim them?

Available now to buy at iBooks, Amazon Australia, Amazon, Kobo, GooglePlay, Booktopia, Bookworld and Dymocks.

The Last of the Bonegilla Girls by Victoria Purman Australian author
The Three Miss Allens by Victoria Purman